PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Norfolk Island Ditching ATSB Report - ?
View Single Post
Old 9th Sep 2012, 23:18
Sarcs

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The observations from the QF pilot in Sandilands article absolutely nails the state of play with the PA ditching report:
I am a Qantas pilot and have been reading the ATSB report of the Pel-Air Norfolk Island accident. From my own reading and conversations with fellow professionals, I have become deeply concerned about the accuracy of information presented as “fact” in the report.
Reading the ATSB report, one of the systemic issues that has been missed and a possible error in detail in the report is the part where the ATSB takes issue with the Captain not asking if any amended TAFs [terminal area or aerodrome forecasts] had been issued for Norfolk Island. This seems like a stupid statement as, if it hadn’t been brought to his attention that an amended TAF had been issued, why would he ask for it? TAFs are issued at routine intervals. Amended TAFs are only issued if something fundamental has changed in the weather and are issued ad hoc, therefore, unless someone lets you know one has been issued, you would never know. The ATSB report then goes on to say that “Nadi ATC did not, and was not required by any international agreement to, proactively provide the 0803 amended Norfolk Island TAF to the flight crew”. Why is this not a “finding” of the report then?
If a TAF is amended and it fundamentally impacts the safety of an aircraft in flight, why wouldn’t it be a requirement to let the Captain know about it? This seems insane! If this is true, the laws need changing and therefore it is a systemic problem and should have been a finding.