PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - What is `promoting a flight` and the ANO?
Old 7th Aug 2012, 08:25
swflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What is `promoting a flight` and the ANO?

Hi,

I'm really struggling with this definition of `advertising` for private flights in the ANO.

I am a enthusiastic pilot who also happens to be a web designer. I want to build a website that lists the most exciting flights I've been on with friends and then explains the trips in a nice way with pictures (I like building websites). It then lists how much it would cost if 3 of us were splitting the costs, or 4 of us etc, etc. I want to do this because generally I find that if I say to people `do you want to go flying?`, the give me blank expressions. If I say, `do you want to go to France because it's like this and we'll visit the shops and eat at this restaurant`, then they go yes please!!

So, I want to build a nice website that explains what is possible but where all we are doing is splitting the costs equally, as per the ANO.

Now, to make sure it's not a `public website`, which clearly would be in breach of the ANO, it would be behind a login system. I would only give a login password to my friends. If any member of the 'public' stumbled across it, they would simply get rejected by the system.

While in principle I can't see what's wrong with this, we are talking about the law here. In the ANO it says that you are only allowed to promote flights within a flying club. I have searched the web but I can't seem to find any clear definition of `flying club`? If my website is password protected and therefore only accessible by my friends, is that a `flying club`? or do I have to charge them £1 each to be a `member`?