PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - High Altitude a friend of newbies
View Single Post
Old 4th Jan 2003, 12:56
radar o'reilly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
gidday there Sheep Guts.

mate, good post. I can't really disagree with any of it. To put my finger on a singular "first-timer haven", I simply can't do it. If I could, I don't think I would have been looking for my first job for 3 years.

Being as I have 200TT and have never actually flown a paid hour, I try not to poke my head out too often on D&G. I guess I just wanted my fellow newbies out there to know that I agree that HA is a great bloke, and he is definitely one of VERY FEW companies that will take "Low-Timers" (some sort of commercial flying time, different to complete newbies. no commercial time at all)

but my experience, although not vast, is that heading to Darwin, Kunnunurra or similar places is pretty much fruitless without something commercial in the book. Be it meatbombing (as you described), glider towing, instructing, ANYTHING.

where you get it, I dont know. when you get it, well done, because I haven't yet. there are external factors that haven't helped me, but that is not the subject at hand. I am also no longer in Darwin, so I am effectively out of the race up there.

I am just trying to be the little man in the corner, with his hand raised, to say that heading north with BARE ratings is a very big call. Go where you can get the zero to 8 hours a week (thanks Mr Hat) until you get 450 to 500 hours, then "head North", anywhere North. It should put you closer to the pointy end of a very big pile of pilots.

there are a bloody lot of "low-timers" up there, and probably just as many newbies. the law of average is gonna put the geurnsey on the low-timer first. not always, but pretty damn close.