PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Becoming a pilot in Ireland... With a twist
Old 31st May 2012, 15:35
Shamrock137

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Becoming a pilot in Ireland... With a twist

Hello all, I'm a long time reader, first time poster. I have spent quite a bit of time on here and other aviation forums , reading through old topics and the stickies and while many of my questions have been answered, I still have a lingering few. First though, I'll share a bit about myself. I'm a recent college graduate who received a 4 year degree in Aviation Management, from one of the lesser known aviation oriented colleges in the US. For those who dont know, the degree is essentially a business degree with an aviation focus. I live in the US and currently have an FAA PPL single land and sea with about 200 hours to my name. I am very familiar with the process of becoming an airline pilot in the US, however I am also an Irish citizen, and my ultimate dream job would be becoming a pilot and living in Ireland.

My current job as an customer service/ramp agent for a US regional airline is only until the end of the summer, as our company has lost its contract to a lower bidding company. I have been seriously thinking about starting my flight training again with the goal of eventually moving to Ireland. I have reserached schools here in the US and those in Ireland, some of whom complete part of the training in the US as well.