PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - advice pls R66 or 480B or 206Biii
View Single Post
Old 28th May 2012, 00:41
ika

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
advice pls R66 or 480B or 206Biii

I'm new to helis, have 500+hrs fixed wing mep/imc flying a twin, half way through ppl(h).
Looking at getting a single turbine, ideally to do 2nd half of ppl(h) in (instead of repeating navigation etc, would make sense to get time and instruction in what I'm going to fly rather than just doing conversion after). Find flying around at 70 kts frustrating when used to 150kts.
Flew an MD500e (and a d and a c), they were great, fast and responsive, sadly no 5th seat else others are no contest and I would buy one. Plan to put kids in so weight not so much a problem but no of seats is.
Tried a Jetranger, perfectly good, supposed to be solid and safe and components go to time, and old ones are cheap, maintenance questionable cost but reckon say £20k pa plus any big things coming up. 120mph/105kts seems realistic.
Being persuaded to try a 480b or an R66 before I commit.
480B on paper a little faster than 206, is it in practice (comfortable, reasonable mid weight - I find that in helis people tend to quote max cruise but in reality don't fly at that as it's uncomfortable if light/heavy/bumpy/at engine limits), going to try one.