PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Modular in Canada or Intergrated in Europe
Old 19th May 2012, 23:43
Elias-8

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Modular in Canada or Intergrated in Europe

Hello all,

First I'd like to thank all of you for your help. I am a newbie and it's been my dream to be a pilot since I was a little kid. Unfortunately I had to choose another career path to have a solid foundation, enough money and time off, so that I can live my dream to be an Airline pilot.

I am now 30 yrs old. I have enough experience in life to know that "you get for what you paid for." i have a descent jobs that pay well about $46,000/ Every 6 months after i pay tax. i work 6 motnhs on and 6 months off.

Here is my dilemma. i would rather have unbiased opinions and lets give our opinions only if we have experienced rather than basing our replies on assumptions.

In Canada I can get my ATPL Frozen for 75,000 US total. But from a lot of research I've come to realize that many pilots here have no options but the bush. There is only a handful of reputable Airlines, lets face the facts. USA is an option but there are many pilots there that have been flying for years as 1/O and only get 18,000/month wow. The regional is not a future. Perhaps for a 21 year old who's willing to stick around for 5-6 years and advance to better things.

On the other hand Oxford is the Harvard of Aviation, I would say CTC comes second, perhaps a few other ones in Europe. I see Europe and Asia the future of Aviation, for any serious Pilots who faces the facts.

Lets say all factors remain the same regarding Economy and politics. What would be the to my best Interest; Taking the Integrated course at Oxford $140,000? and if I do exceptionally well I may have the 50% chance of getting a solid 1/O position in an Airline? Or Do the Modular in CTC or Oxford and cross the river half way and not get a placement or get a chance to get my feet wet with an airline?