PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AF 447 Thread No. 8
View Single Post
Old 8th May 2012, 16:40
RetiredF4

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
DW

Retired F4
But he didn´t get the clue, otherwise he would have asked or even he would have taken over the aircraft like you mentioned, correct?
He did try to correct the PF verbally, so it's reasonable to assume he realised, or at least felt that something was wrong. I'm not an expert, but his speech pattern seems to indicate indecision. The captain has put the PF in charge - if the PNF takes over before the captain arrives, will it reflect badly on him if it turns out to be unnecessary? Perhaps he felt that correcting the PF verbally until the captain arrived would be the safest path to take
I made my point clear in this post, bur let us look further into this matter:

2 h 10 min 11 What is that?
2 h 10 min 17 We’ve lost the the the speeds so… engine thrust ATHR engine lever thrust
2 h 10 min 22 Alternate law protections (law/low/lo)
2 h 10 min 24 Wait we’re losing…
2 h 10 min 25 Wing anti-ice
2 h 10 min 27 Watch your speed Watch your speed
2 h 10 min 31 Stabilise Go back down
2 h 10 min 33 You’re at Go back down
2 h 10 min 39 I’ll put you in in ATT (*)…
2 h 10 min 49 (…) where is he er?
2 h 11 min 00 Above all try to touch the lateral controls as little as possible eh
2 h 11 min 06 (…) is he coming or not?
2 h 11 min 21 But we’ve got the engines what’s happening (…)?
2 h 11 min 38 Controls to the left (and puts the SS to the full left stop)
(2 h 11 min 43 Captain on the deck: Er what are you doing?)
2 h 11 min 43 What’s happening? I don’t know I don’t know what’s happening
2 h 12 min 07 No above all don’t extend (the)
2 h 12 min 13 What do you think about it what do you think what do we need to do?
I stop there, because it gets worse later on.

Is that really a pilot monitoring in the loop?

2 h 10 min 11 What is that?
Probably the stall warning? Did he even recognize it as stall warning?