PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Gaining An R.A.F Pilots Brevet In WW II
View Single Post
Old 3rd Feb 2012, 14:03
Danny42C

The kit issued at every stage - that's a tall order!

Welcome aboard, Petet (#2265) - I'm new in these parts, too. People have been very kind to me, let's get your ball rolling.

Your grandad will have started in a Reception Centre like mine (the one - Babbacombe - I'm describing in my current Posts). What did I get to turn me into some semblance of an airman? A nervous, baffled ex-civilian has been marched into the Clothing Stores.

He shuffles slowly down the line. The Equpiment Assistant sizes him up at a single glance, turns to the shelves behind, and dumps on the counter:

One airman's S.D. (Service Dress) uniform - blue serge, scratchy.
If it fits, he must be deformed. If the fit is too bad, the E.A. will grudgingly swap it for a better one, until a more or less reasonable result is achieved.

One airman's Greatcoat - fitting as before. (Note that there is no raincoat, you use your groundsheet; that is hardly elegant, but it keeps the rain out.

Note that there is no "Battledress". This is May 1941, they came in later.

My uniform was "part-worn": I often wondered what had become of the first wearer!

One "Cap, Service Dress" (flat 'at) with brass badge. One "Cap, Field Service" (forage cap, or fore-and-aft cap), with brass badge and two buttons to polish.

One pair blue woolen gloves

One First Field Dressing (I'll say no more about this for the moment).

* Two (three) blue shirts (collarless). ? blue soft collars. You had to buy your own collar studs; if these were mother-of-pearl things you'd got last birthday from a doting Aunt, they'd be lost - or pinched - within the week. But if they were 3d Woolies, they'd last for years. It's always the way.