PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Standard Visual Circuits
View Single Post
Old 22nd Jan 2012, 20:02
bemused1812

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Standard Visual Circuits

Hi, I wonder if you experts can help me. I’m an ex-military pilot. I have no GA experience, but recently I went to my local flying club, as I wanted to get checked out on a light aircraft. I have flown with two flying instructors. They have left me totally confused about a couple of things; amongst them the ‘standard’ visual circuit. Each seemed to have a different idea about how it should be flown.

In an attempt to clarify things, I’ve been looking up various references, on and off-line, to see how to fly a ‘standard’ powered visual circuit. The first thing that I have discovered is that there does not seem to be any such thing; something which seems to be borne out in the real world! The references are all delightfully vague and contradictory. But further than that, I can find none that actually ‘work’. By work, I mean that the described geometry actually works out.

Let’s take RD Campbell, author of the AOPA Flying Instructor’s Manual, which I understand is often considered an authority.

Campbell suggests climbing at Vx to a minimum of 500 ft, a climbing turn onto the crosswind leg and then levelling at circuit height (800 or 1000 ft). The turn downwind is made level using 30ºAoB ‘when at a suitable distance out from the runway’. He gives no clues what he considers the downwind spacing should be.

He suggests the turn onto base should similarly be made level at 30ºAoB ‘at a suitable distance from the touchdown area’. Elsewhere he mentions that the ideal point to turn is ‘when the intended touch-down point lies at an angle of approximately 45º behind the wing’. Presumably this is in still air conditions.