PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Airbus trepidation... convince me otherwise!
Old 6th Jan 2012, 18:15
TTex600

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by aa73
Thanks for the correction regarding roll rate.

But why does Airbus "auto-trim"? As a pilot I **WANT** to trim out the forces myself - so that I am in concert with what I want the airplane to do. When I put my 757 in a bank, I trim slightly nose up and it's exactly how I've flown for 20+ years.

I don't **WANT** autotrim, as it removes me from control that much more. I want to know where my trim is at all times. Is there any way to disconnect the autotrim and keep 100% "hands on" operation?

edit: in response to TTex: understood about the FBW not failing in AF447. But - and this is a big but - do you Airbus folks believe that the lack of "cues" (sticks not moving together, throttles not moving) contributed to the lack of the pilots' SA?
aa, This site has a large number of engineers/programmers/techies who can tell you why it autotrims. I only know that it does. I agree, I want an airplane to stay on trim speed when I put it there, I hate having to chase airspeed when hand flying.

You can not disconnect auto trim, and contrary to the flight manual, you can't trim like a normal aircraft. Even if you attempt to manually trim, the system will fight you and remove your input as soon as you release the trim wheel. This is because the trim trims for "g" and for flightpath, unless you train your brain to trim for flightpath or "g", you will never get it in trim.