PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AMR 587 Airbus Crash (merged)
View Single Post
Old 7th Nov 2002, 21:07
arcniz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Are we learning something from this?

I am really disturbed by the practices described in anecdotal comments about recycling the breakers for YD, pitch/trim, FIC, etc. From these remarks, one can infer that this practice is common, normal, and sometimes considered necessary.

This may be a case where 'old-time' practices have been carried forward without much-needed examination for relevance and safety.

As a pilot, I am familiar with the decision process that leads to go/no-go decisions when some piece of MEL equipment is 'a bit flaky' but seems essentially sound: If you can inspire it to work in a perceptibly proper manner, you sure want to do that rather than scrub the flight. I am also very familiar with the tweaks and prodding sometimes required to fully awaken an aircraft from a cold / hot / long / damp sleep.

But as a computer architect, controls maven, and systems guy, it scares the stuffing out of me to think that repeatedly cycling primary power to mission critical systems - when the systems are balky on startup - is a popular cure-all in operations with "modern" aircraft.

The "modern" qualifier is meant to distinguish between older aircraft systems that were often controlled by relays and other mechanical contactors, versus newer ones that are principally implemented and controlled by electronic circuits of a much more complex nature. In the days of relays, cycling power repeatedly was a crude but effective way to break through oxides on the contacts and to free up stuck or slightly welded contacts on mechanical actuators.

In these modern days of electronics everywhere, cycling power a lot on systems is just a way to make them wear harder and fail much sooner than they otherwise would.