PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - BA Future Pilot Programme (FPP)(Merged)
View Single Post
Old 15th Aug 2011, 15:34
Rhcriad Bsranon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello All

I’m a newbie and would just like to introduce myself.

Having been in the employ of Her Majesty’s government for more years than I care to remember, I find myself at the grand old age of fifty in the enviable position of being a debt free retiree in receipt of a modest pension. Thankfully, as my wife is in full employment and my children self supporting, despite still living at home, I do not have to work and would like to think that if I chose to do so, it would be something that I’d do for nothing! Which is why, like so many other contributors to this thread, I was overjoyed to learn of British Airways’ new, exciting and inclusive ‘Future Pilot’ programme. Apparently, they’d even welcome applications from individuals of my vintage.

However, this has been tempered somewhat by the gloomy jottings of some of my peers on these pages who venture that the blind submission of an application by the positively geriatric, would almost inevitably lead to the wastage of both time and money. Apparently, the ‘Over 36s’ would experience extreme difficulty assimilating and processing copious amounts of information including getting to grips with even the most basic principles of flying or the manipulation of hard sums like those involved in the weight distribution of an aircraft – perish the thought; to say nothing of glacially slow reactions coupled with the onset of failing eyesight and hearing. I’ll get my coat…….and walking stick