PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AF 447 Thread No. 6
View Single Post
Old 14th Aug 2011, 20:34
gums

Received 55 Likes on 16 Posts
automation and feedback

Thank you Safety, thank you. The Norman paper is appropriate and a necessary "read" for all here.

Before adding to 'bird's ideas, I must point out that the accident started when air data sensors went south.

So what do we do when that happens? What do we do when the A/P disconnects and autothrottle keeps power setting where it was?

Well, it depends upon the design of the flight control system (FCS), old fashioned or the new FBW systems. It also depends upon crew training and "attitude" of the crew.

As a pilot, I would prefer a more straightforward reversion sequence, similar to 'bird's #1.. No need to go straight to the "direct" law where electrons simply replace tubes, cables and hydraulic lines. Just revert to a very basic "control stick steering" (CSS) and replace insistent efforts by the FCS to "protect you". Provide warning and caution indications of mach, AoA, etc when available, but basically fly attitude that is available from embedded sensors in the FCS. In other words, you have a very capable autopilot type function and have time to assess the loss of air data while maintaining aircraft control. Retired, 'bird, Smilin' and others here have flown with CSS, and it is easy.

Inherent in a FBW system are embedded sensors we used to use for attitude and navigation/weapon delivery. When the confusers fail, these sensors also fail or are ignored, You are SOL at that point. Meanwhile, you should have body rate, acceleration and even attitude sensors embedded. e.g if. you don't depend upon the external navigation/autopilot sensors - inertial, GPS, doppler, pitot-static, AoA vanes/cones, AHRS, etc.