PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Misplaced optimism and the 'where should I train' syndrome ...
Old 15th Oct 2002, 11:29
lancelevin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think you quoted directly from my post last week, so I feel I should reply to help you understand my misguided optimism.

I am a University student studying IT and 18months ago I got a very good IT job in the middle of the dot.com collapse, when everybody around me was saying the end of IT is nigh. I am about to graduate in 2003 with a degree in an industry which has seen a 45% job market loss and into an economy which has the FTSE at a six year low. Graduate jobs are down 75% in some organisations and salaries are down 30%. Maybe I should just jump off the cliff now and save everybody alot of trouble. Or you could do what I do, and have been doing for the past 4 years which is analyse the situation, develop a risk plan and come to your own conclusions.

I believe there is Optimism/Reality & Pessimism, I feel your post is a semi accurate reflection of the market, people are out of work and terrorists are doing their bit to make us feel uneasy. However you seem to ignore that BA will be recruiting 1500 pilots over the next 10 years, that Britannia have just started a sponsorship scheme and that Ryannair are ordering 30 new 737's and hiring 150 pilots per year over the next two years, just to mention a few.

Your statement:

'how can I start my training now and ensure that I can still be employable in 2006 -7 should it be necessary'

well thats why I am getting a degree, to make sure that if I cant get a job in 2004 than I can still get a job somewhere, pay for some hours and pay off the loan.

If as you say "The USA could kick off the next world war" than not getting a flying job for a few more years will be the least of my worries, but more like oh my God I am prime age for national service where is the next Nuke coming from?