PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - There Is Hope - The Death Of The MBA.
View Single Post
Old 11th Jul 2011, 09:18
lk978

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Its funny to me reading posts like this one and others with a similar nature. I am an university educated person with an undergraduate degree and a masters degree in business. I honestly believe that yes there is too much emphasis put on education especially in the US. University study should be seen as getting a good grounding of key concepts and looking at what has worked in the past and what we can do in the future, although I don't believe universities here in Australia do a great job teaching innovation in the business schools.

I also don't subscribe to the thought process of this is how it has always been done and I have been doing this for 40 years... This works to a point but there are a few guys like Henry Ford and the Boy's who started Google (both have Degree's) that may disagree.

I for one have seen many peers get out into the work force and make a complete balls up of it because the text book said to do it one way and that didn't go over to well. I have also seen so many other people with years of experience that have no idea about how they could be doing something a better way because there is no other way.

I would say don't put too much emphasis on a uni degree (I am not that smart and can't spell for sh!t), I made it through, but don't disregard best practice as it may save you allot of time and hassle experimenting.