PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Dispatcher training?
View Single Post
Old 6th Jul 2011, 09:54
Echo Disp

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I studied the Sheffield Distance + 5 days course several years ago and got the license with Sheffield and I haave several opinions about it.

I believe Sheffield is one of the best schools in Dispatcher training in USA. Many airlines send their employers to Sheffield and it can be a good proof.

boyesbingaman:
There were 2 instructors, Eric and Brett during my stay in FLL. They are both qualified as instructors and examiners. If the course is instructed by one, another will be examiners and vice versa. I am not sure the arrangement for your class but the abive is my case.

for all:
Perosnnaly I am pleased with the quality and in depth knowledge covered in Sheffield's course and I believe the Sheffield's standard is much much higher than what FAA requires.

My suggestion for the FAA ADX test, for anyone who interested in taking the course at Sheffield, try to study and pass the ADX exam in advance. You can get a Gleim or ASA ATP test prep easily from amazon. To be honest, I believe ADX test is just a game of memorising the quetsions and answers , you can remember the answers eaisly if you go through it several times. If you can get a pass before the start of the course at Sheffield, you can fully concentrate in sheffield stuff once u arrive.

There are schools which use ATP test prep as the major text book. I dont think it is a good approach but this is actually exisiting. LIke boyesbingaman mentioned, Sheffield just let you study the Gleim yourself as their major text book is not that. If anyone want to learn more, Sheffiled's approach would be better than just using Gleim as major text. Sheffield concentrate in instructing the in depth theories rather than the gleim.