PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - EASA Update
Thread: EASA Update
View Single Post
Old 5th Jun 2011, 17:27
Gertrude the Wombat

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Well, I've sent this, for whatever good it might do:
Dear Andrew,

As you may know I am a private pilot and have been flying for quite a while now. I have invested in further training to upgrade my skills and acquire the UK Instrument Meteorological Conditions Rating.

To my dismay it has come to my attention that under the new EASA FCL regulations I'm about to lose the flying privileges of my IMC-rating. This rating is very useful as it allows me to fly through cloud cover, should the weather conditions deteriorate below what was forecast, a condition that we face quite often in the UK; without it there would be far fewer days of the year on which it would be prudent to take off.

The proposed EASA legislation doesn't offer any reasonable alternative or compensation for the lost course money and flight lessons or for the removal of the rights that I currently enjoy. The UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) also hasn't been very helpful, mainly because the proposed legislation is currently undergoing a scrutiny procedure in the transport committee of the European Parliament and the CAA's line seems to be "we don't really know exactly what's happening, and it's out of our hands anyway, so we can't help you".