PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - EASA Update
Thread: EASA Update
View Single Post
Old 4th Jun 2011, 21:21
proudprivate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sample letter for Gertrude

there's some Euro-bollocks that says I won't be able to continue using my IMCr on 172s rented from the local club then I've got a problem, otherwise I haven't.
Your MEPs : Constituencies

Dear X,

My name is Gertrude the Wombat and I'm a private pilot living in Y near Z. I've been flying for quite a while now and have invested in a skills upgrade to obtain the UK Instrument Meteorlogical Conditions Rating.

To my dismay it has come to my attention that under the new EASA FCL regulations I'm about to lose the flying privileges of my IMC-rating. This is essential when traveling across the country so that I can still get back should cloud cover unexpectedly develop, a condition that we British more than often face.

The proposed EASA legislation doesn't offer any reasonable alternative or compensation for the lost course money and flight lessons. The CAA also hasn't been very communicative, mainly because the proposed legislation is currently undergoing a scrutiny procedure in the transport committee of the European Parliament.

[the next bit varies as to where you live. If you're lucky enough to be from West-Midlands, you have two MEPs that are members of the Transport Committee, otherwise you could go indirectly]

It would help me a lot if you could reject the current proposal, sending EASA and the Commission a strong signal that imposing the abolition of a safety enhancing feature in private flying in the UK is not the way to go.