PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - AF447 Thread No. 3
View Single Post
Old 29th May 2011, 19:11
Ron51

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not a pilot problem...

Why this case is a design concept problem and not a pilot problem?

Answer:

If only 1% of qualified pilots get a wrong picture of what is going on in this scenario then it's not a pilot or training problems but a design problem in the way of data presentation to the pilots.
Additional point: If all systems are okay but only one input data (air speed) is invalid then there is no reason to disable the autopilot because the pilot don't have a better speed value.

Following this thread since two years as silent reader I have the advantage not to be a pilot but many years of IT design experience. This helps to identify problems from another point of view.
I am a graduated physicist and have been working as software developer for 25 years with industry quality data IT-systems including data input screens, automatic machine date interfaces and graphical presentation.
During all the thousands of IT-duty calls I got at day and night helped me to develop a good feeling what can go wrong between hardware, software and the user - and how to avoid this.

Main problem in the system design phase:
The programmer speaks with the wrong persons (not the end user) or got a system specification written by people not knowing all cases. Especially big companies avoid direct contact between the programmer and the end user.
The resulting produced software is working well for standard cases but in case of problems the error handling will be poor.
Only the end user knows all special cases and possible combination with other systems. The programmer has the task to find out what the user really needs and only he knows which additional help data the system can give to the user.
Note: A good written program often has more than 50% code for error handling.

Example: >>> The user wants to print a sheet with quality data but nothing happens.