PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The Demise of Hong Kong Airlines
View Single Post
Old 7th May 2011, 13:29
too.girls.one.cup

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi I am new to HKA last year.

I find out they not paying some things they should. 50000 $HK each year.

I had interview with Hong Kong Labour Department to confirm some things, and they agree that HKA is not paying pilots the legal amount for annual leave and holiday pay. The department said they are aware of this issue for some time, but the pilots have never stick together to force the issue.

When we did the calculations the amount they underpay us is about 40,000 or more each year. Depends if your captain or first officer.

There are 5 pilots who are now willing to put pressure to get paid what is correct. (The amount the government published we should be paid to all employees) We are trying to get more pilots, to join us and make the company stop fraudulently underpaying us.

The laws can be found here Department of Justice: Bilingual Laws Information System
Chapter 57 Section 40 Payment of holiday pay and Section 41 Rate of holiday pay.

One of the laws they are breaking is paying ONLY basic salary during annual leave when we should receive the average daily rate for the annual leave period for the previous 12 months. (Average means basic salary plus hourly flight pay)

The other law they are breaking is not paying “extra” when we work on a statutory holidays.

The other thing is we are not receiving a “substitute DDO” if we work on a statutory holiday as specified in section 40. The just write DDO-SH in our roster, and it is not an 'extra' day off just the next normal DDO on your roster.