PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - A320 Speed tape on PFD
View Single Post
Old 17th Sep 2002, 09:48
have another coffee

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Boeing speed tape has the higher speeds on the upper side of the PFD (737NG) and I presume it will be all the same for the other boeing products.

As I have no experience at all with Airbus products I cannot comment on that. However I think most of the comments regarding the presentations in the glass cockpit apply to both of them.
My opinion is that position awareness on these aircraft is extremely high. If the pilots pay a little bit of attention its almost impossible to fly into the ground (EGPWS, map display, LNAV etc). The manufactures have put a lot of effort into avoiding CFIT incidents. Still about 25% of all aviation accidents are due to loss of control ! And If I look at the improvements made on that aspect in the cockpit its very very poor. The instruments look nice in the glass cockpit but they are basicly the same as 50 years ago. Fly by wire made some protection possible to keep the aircraft within the "envelope" but where in the envelope the aircraft is and where its going performance wise is very difficult to predict. Particulary as the cockpit windows are very small, wind and engine noise have almost disappeared and (not for boeing aircraft) control forces are gone.
I fully agree with Nightbird that the chosen locations of instruments is not the best. And many times your eyes are swerving through the cockpit to look for some indication, be it flap position, engine power or outside reference etc...
There have to be some scientific research been done in the past to come to the present situation. If anybody can point me to some I'd be greatfull. Just to see what arguments they came up with.

Finaly I'd like to tell about a occurence that happened a few months ago during an ils approach which demonstrates some of the problems Nightbird is worried about.