PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Industrial Action at Flybe?
View Single Post
Old 17th Mar 2011, 00:58
Lord Spandex Masher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am an Army of One (or 2, or 300, ...)

I am an army of One - A Captain in the Flybe army.
For years I was a loyal soldier in Jim's army. Now I fight my own war.
I used to feel valued and respected. Now I know I am mere fodder.
They used to exhibit labor leadership. Now they exploit legal loopholes.
They used to enjoy my maximum. Now they will suffer my minimum.
I am an army of One.

I used to save Flybe five hundred kilos of fuel per leg; finding the best FL, getting direct routing, throttling back when on-time was made, skimping during ground ops, adjusting for winds, being smart and giving the company every effort I could conjure. Now, it's "burn baby, burn".

I used to call maintenance while airborne, so the part would be ready at the gate. Now, they'll find the write-up when they look in the book.
I used to try to fix problems in the system, now I sit and watch as the miscues pile up.
I used to fly sick. Now I use my sick days, on short notice, on the worst day of the month.
I am an army of One.

I used to start the APU at the last possible moment. Now my customers enjoy extreme comfort.
I used to let the price of fuel at out-stations affect my fuel orders. I still do.
I used to cover mistakes by operations. Now I watch them unfold.
I used to hustle to ensure an on-time arrival, to make us the best. Now I do it for the rampers and agents who need the bonus money….but this too may change.
I used to call ops for rerouting, to head off ground delays for bad weather. Now I collect overs, number 35 in line for takeoff.