PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Paying for your rating !!!
View Single Post
Old 16th Feb 2011, 20:54
Superpilot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OK. Time out. Get a grip you guys that cast aside SSTR guys due to some obnoxious belief we are all young (without commitment), rich, spoilt and privileged queue jumpers. Spare a thought for us guys at the lower end who have no other choice.

I graduated in 2008 after saving for over 5 years. No money owed to parents or banks. I had no connections; no friends owning aircraft charter firms and certainly no dad/uncle working within the aviation business. I was however a 20 something married father and payer of a mortgage and bills. I've mentioned the last bit because there is no way I could’ve taken up instructing. Why would I have done that anyway? Which recruitment pilot is interested in my puddle jumper hours? - Easy, Wizz and at least 3 other European airlines have factorisation tables that take your 1,000 SEP hours and spit out just 10 !

Fast forwarding a bit, from 2008 till now (2011) the only operator interested in interviewing newbies (regardless of where they trained) has been RyanAir and the odd ad by TNT (with no doubt hundreds if not thousands applying). I had a Ryanair interview (my only one since graduating). Didn’t get through.