PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Radiation Monitoring
View Single Post
Old 15th Feb 2011, 17:10
Handlesinc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Current research

I've just stumbled across this forum and i'm very interested in some of the posts. There is a lot of misinformation generally on this topic and plenty of debate even amoung the "informed".

I am a physicist working directly in this field so i'd just like to clarify a few fundamentals: the radiation dose received by aircrew (and some frequent flying passengers) is indeed typically higher than workers at nuclear power stations - this is in large part becuase their dose is much more closely monitored and controlled. It is true that the dose received is not something to panic about - typically two to three times the average UK background level - but it is not true to say that it is unimportant. European legislation recognises air crew as radiation workers and airlines typically apply rostering to avoid exceeding an operational threshold which would require them to apply regular health checking.

This all primarily relates to cosmic rays. The additional hazard from some types of solar flare has only recently started gathering momentum in terms of industry awareness. Radiation from the largest of these flares can not only cause personal dose to exceed annual limits (though one of these has not occured for over twenty years) but they can also pose a threat to avionics via radiation effects on microelectronics. The radiation environment is mixed and complex and most radiation dosimeters do not adequately measure the dose (this includes TLDs incidentally). Altitude and latitude are the most important factors but inverse square law has no relevance at all.