PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - French Concorde crash
View Single Post
Old 17th Dec 2010, 08:58
PBL

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Adding to Iron Duck's commentary on the phrase
At no point in this string of events did anyone knowingly do something wrong or shirk his or her responsibilities
That seems like a straightforward comment, but I notice it hides a lot which is relevant to these legal events. First, I note that this can be separated into two assertions:

At no point in this string of events did anyone knowingly do something wrong
At no point in this string of events did anyone shirk his or her responsibilities
ad 1. The French court disagreed with this assessment. They decided that the mechanic had committed involuntary manslaughter. I don't know what the French criteria for this are. In Britain, as far as I understand British law (and I am not a professional), one major criterion for having committed a criminal act which led to unlawful killing is having indulged in "gross negligence". There is negligence, and there is gross negligence. "Knowing" plays, if at all, a subsidiary role. Exercising one's duty of care, or not, plays a major role, as I understand it.

ad 2. I think it is obvious, as it appears does Iron Duck, that the Continental mechanic did not exercise his duty of care to perform the repair according to applicable procedure. If "not exercising his duty of care" is what is meant here by "shirking his or her responsibilities", then this second statement is false. And if it doesn't mean that, then I don't know what it would mean.

I am no expert in whether not exercising one's duty of care in this case constitutes "negligence" or "gross negligence", but these concepts are not necessarily applicable in French law. As for French law, the decision is before us and the quoted statement above just contradicts it. That is easy to do from another country and another legal system.