PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Oxford Aviation Acadamy
View Single Post
Old 1st Nov 2010, 00:06
max_continuous

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My tuppence worth...

I am an OAA Grad (integrated, probably ill-timed, but that's for another day) and finished earlier this year. I do not intend to provide a complete review, which has been done to death, and wlll no doubt lead to OAA sales team coming back on and quoting the usual pitch again anyway, but just some general points.

1) OAA is a business, a big one, which grew much bigger throughout the course of my training and has, in my opinion, grown too big for its own good as far as ab initio training is concerned.
The company is a money-making venture and you absolutely must remember that.

2) OAA Accommodation is part of the money-making venture and therefore HUGELY overpriced and not especially good quality. I elected not to stay in it at all but spent enough time there to know I had made a wise decision. If you want a cooker then stay elsewhere; if you're happy with a two-plate plug-in hob and a microwave then knock yourself out.
Notwithstanding this the accomm staff are, by all accounts, some of the best on offer.

3) OAA Management...least said the better, quite frankly. Let's just say that they go to great lengths to make you feel like a "student... trainee pilot... graduate" and do not take kindly to being reminded that you are also a "customer" ... (I shall now have to wash my mouth out, bad, bad word)

4) Groundschool...pretty much spot on, if you match the tuition you are given with a mature, dedicated approach and put the work in yourself as well. The instrcutors are committed and generally very knowledgeable. If you are not ex-forces then you may get a bit fed up of all the "in-chat" but it's bearable. CBT was growing in popularity, seems to be an industry-wide thing so just accept it but personally I absolutely can not stand it.