PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Concorde engine intake "Thrust"
View Single Post
Old 13th Sep 2010, 20:50
ChristiaanJ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Landroger
It is getting clearer all the time, many thanks to you both, but I have to take the math as read. I have my grandfather's grasp of the mechanical (electronics was before his time, but those too ),but not my late father's self taught grasp of mathematical concepts. They just give me a sensation very closely allied to vertigo.
Roger,
A lot of it is not maths as such, but "getting your head around a concept".
Like supersonic flow, shock waves and all that.
I was lucky, I suppose... I learned all that when I was still a teenager, from somebody doing a few very simple demonstrations in a flow of water over a slightly inclined glass plate lit from below.
The same with electronics... my grandfather was a radio amateur (1920's !!), my father was an electrical engineer. It rubbed off very early on.

....I could try and explain how MRI scanners work...
Again, it's not just being an engineer, but being able to explain a concept in clear terms.
BTW, I know how MRI scanners work... after my early retirement I went into writing documentation for medical imaging software....

What I find so neat - I'm sure it is beautiful if the maths are included - is the way the design team 'conjured' the shock waves. The edges, dump gates and ramps are sort of obvious, almost simplistic in a sense, but the secret is all in the way these engineering 'magic wands' conjure a series of invisible, yet powerful 'force fields'. Force fields not directly connected to the doors and ramps necessarily, but the whole witches kitchen interacting to produce .... the thrust rabbit out of the intake hat.
Thanks, Roger.
It's usually only engineers that will recognise a particularly neat engineering solution as "beautiful".....