PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Class 1 Medical, previous dependency
View Single Post
Old 7th Sep 2010, 22:54
V1VN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Class 1 Medical, previous dependency

Hi fellow avatars, just signed up t PPRUNE-seems like a great community and resource. I'm currently an aspiring pilot progressing through the PPL syllabus, and loving every minute in the air. I would love to become a commercial pilot eventually.

However I have a major worry, five years ago I suffered injuries, including a broken arm and collarbone, in a gnarly car accident. The docs prescribed me opioid analgesics (Morphine, Oxycontin) for the pain. Despite taking them exactly as instructed, over time my body developed a dependence and ultimately tolerance to the substance. I never took the medication for a psychoactive effect, I used it completely as prescribed. Once my pain had eased, I no longer needed the medication. However, my body did. If I didn't take it, I would suffer intense withdrawals, which I couldn't go through with as in full time employment.