PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Chinook - Still Hitting Back 3 (Merged)
View Single Post
Old 27th Aug 2010, 05:57
tucumseh

Received 172 Likes on 65 Posts
Anyone find out about the switch on the SuperTANS? - no? Simple enough, one would have thought - if STANS is turned off, do Doppler and GPS subsystems still carry on calculating?

Walter

Not quite the correct question but close. If TANS is switched off (as stated by the AAIB), does it still accept, process and record in memory the external inputs (Doppler, GPS, ADS)?

But you make a very good point. After 16 years there is still much debate about how systems work, are presented to the crew and used by them. For example, I’ve read dozens of interpretations of what the Safety Altitude was. I can’t say Wratten and Day are wrong as I’m no expert, but there are many experts here who have different opinions; which means doubt. But I’ve sat and listened to the RAF’s senior test pilot of the day and the most experienced man on HC Mk2 at the time, and he says W&D are wrong on this, and many other aspects. I gravitate toward such an expert opinion, but accept others don’t.

Throughout this case we come across such conflicts. Too often we see evidence of MoD searching for different opinion until finding one that suits the verdict of gross negligence against the pilots. In my little area of knowledge the classic example is the FADEC software.