PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Engine Failure
Thread: Engine Failure
View Single Post
Old 18th Aug 2010, 10:55
Fuji Abound

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am also no expert but I have taken an interest in this matter.

There are a number of factors that will determine the outcome of a forced landing. However, reading the accident reports, it strikes me that with conventional forced landings the single commonality is the lack of predictability. That makes sense to me. I suspect we all think about forced landings in the relatively sterile training environment. In reality there is every chance the engine will probably fail when we are least expecting it to do so.

From my limited experience, discussions with those who have had engines fail, and from reading the accident reports a lot of engine failures are at relatively low levels. Statistically this is not surprising because so many pilots usually operate between 1,500 and 3,000 feet. Catastrophic engine failure is often, not surprisingly, associated with some sole searching. For example, a pilot I know had oil all over the screen and almost no forward visibility. There are a host of reasons why in advance of a failure and for a time after the failure, it is all too easy for the pilot’s vision to have tunnelled, such that he has lost some of his situational awareness. He must now prepare for the landing and select the best landing site as well as maintain control of the aircraft. Again this is barely representative of the normal sterile training environment in which the pilot is expecting a PFL, has thought about wind, has rehearsed the vital pre-landing actions and, as luck has it, is almost certainly over a area that will present some reasonable landing opportunities.