PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Which helmet?
Thread: Which helmet?
View Single Post
Old 3rd Aug 2002, 21:29
EI_Sparks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hairy-
Actually, I was just thinking of a pair of sneakers. Or do RAF boots have fire-resistant properties? Maybe I can just get some nomex socks....

As to passangers:
1) Most of my friends are scared of heights and wouldn't go flying without being handcuffed to the airframe;
2) Most of my friends like these funky things called seatbelts, crumple zones and airbags
3) It's my head. If I get rich and buy/make my own plane, I'll get a second helmet and (enormous) growbag. If not, well, erm. I'll assure them that if a puzzled seagull hits the windscreen, I'll still be able to see and land the plane as opposed to being unconcious in the seat with a seagull's tailfeathers protruding from my forehead.

Flying sensibly ... always a good idea. Not perfect in that, as an engineer, I've never heard of a perfectly reliable machine, but still not a course of action to rubbish. I just happen to think birdstrike is a valid worry when few GA pilots get above 10000ft and most get over 100mph. Maybe in a Cub, the poor confused seagull would bounce - but I'd rather have the full kit then anyway after the reports on cub stall/spin accidents. And last I checked, military and ems pilots can wear protective gear and still fly sensibly. Having a helmet on doesn't really act as an encouragement to spin into the ground from 800' up...

As to the driving bit - to be honest, I'd prefer to have a helmet for my car, but I drive a citroen ZX Those of you who drive one know what I mean And look at most bikers - they wear full leather/kevlar/steel getups with a helmet on top. Most modern cars are so complex because they are effectively designing the car as being your integral helmet/growbag.