PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Polish Presidential Flight Crash Thread
View Single Post
Old 25th Jun 2010, 14:03
vorra

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am not sure if this is still relevant, but I edited the post by Alice025 that BOAC didn't understand to make it more readable. I have to note I am not a professional and do not have all the terminology correct. The sentence I could not understand is in cursive.

Now, BOAC.
You wrote you never told your height to the ATC on PAR approaches, and you wondered why anyone would.

I questioned a military pilot again regarding why he would do it.
He explained that this is the accepted way of interaction with the ATC, i.e. the way the pilot-controller tandem operates.

The example given was landing in 100x1000 visibility.

“The complex preparatory stages in this weather demanded some tricky flying. The first step was getting to the point 52 km away from the aerodrome and at 4,800 m height. Then from this point descending to the next point at the slope of 30 degrees and speed of 550 km/h. When approximately there (by flying time), telling the ground control my height - and as a return courtesy the ATC responded with the plane's distance to aerodrome.

Desirably, the distance is set for the second point. Also at that time ATC told the pilot by how many degrees and in what direction to turn to finally get on the landing course and that is where ATC gave permission to descend.
When ATC allowed me to let out the landing gear and the flaps, I needed to descend at an angle of 12 degrees and at the descent rate of 30 m/s to proceed to the next point where I needed to be at 2,000 m height. In this mode the ATC periodically told me where to fly to get on the landing course and I simply told him my height in response as a confirmation.