PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Aircraft down in Canley Vale
View Single Post
Old 20th Jun 2010, 02:56
remoak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Chronic Snoozer

If you could see that the field is fogged in. Simple.
Yes, that's a completely fair point... however nobody who was there or in the vicinity seems to think that was the case. I don't know either way.

Quote:
However, despite the training you gave him, the end result was tragic and from what I can tell, probably did not need to be.
Is this really a comment that needs to be made so early in the piece? Its directed at an individual and given the circumstances is not what he needs/wants to hear right now. His reaction is understandable.
See, this is where I fail to understand why so-called professionals simply lash out rather than reading what is written (not meaning davidgrant or GADRVR, just talking generally).

I have been training pilots for over 20 years, mostly in the airline environment, and I have seen lots of them make bad decisions DESPITE all the training I had given them. That is simply because all humans, irrespective of their prior training, occasionally make bad judgement calls or get caught out in their thinking. All trainers (well, the ones with consciences, anyway) want to give their students the best possible equipment to deal with whatever they come across.

In this case, nobody has at any point questioned the quality of the training, least of all me. The final decisions all come down to the pilot in command, and you can only hope he will remember his training and act accordingly. Humans being humans, that isn't always the case. Stress is different outside the training environment, where you know you will always get the engine back if you really need it... so sometimes fear takes over.