PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - A glimmer of hope maybe
View Single Post
Old 13th Mar 2010, 16:18
quagmiregiggidy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The way I see things(im no expert but I see things from right in the middle of the mix at the moment),there are positions for first officers, but these are very limited, and for the average bod who wants to stay in the UK and bring a family up they are like rocking horse poo.
There are currently only a few ways to get airline employment at the moment.
Heres my experience following recent mass redundency and the requirements to get hired.
a) have over 2000 hours Jet time preferably glass cockpit time, even better if its an airbus, and even better if you speak an additional language or are resident in a country who only take their own nationals.
b) have over 500 hours either on type or are wealthy enough to pay for ones rating and have a a degree.(Korean)
c) the integrated route with a provider who will place you with an airline.(is there such a thing still going)
d) integrated or modular then the Ryan air cadet scheme (not a hope with them as an experienced F.O), or CTC for the likes of Easyjet.
It seems the instructor route,hours building route, or type rating route with some line flying are at least for now not going to provide that lucky break for most.
For anyone who started airline flying within the last 12 to 24 months,who has under 2000 hours total, with less than 1500 hours on type or who has recently qualified, things will be a big struggle.
I have the feeling that the people who need to be most aware of the current and likely future hiring position are those more mature wannabees who intend to go down the modular route and hours build or buy a rating.I wouldnt do it.