PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - EFPS - Writing on the strip
View Single Post
Old 1st Mar 2010, 06:53
Tarq57

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by SimGod
Fear not! I am not a newbie at this game..
Who said anything about fear?
Frustration, we can talk about that, maybe.

I have been through this process more times than I care to remember and its always painful,
Been through a few myself, and it's absolutely not always that painful. Some of the tech changes I've seen go through have been, by and large, a pleasure to work with, after the bugs were ironed out. Unfortunately that has not been the case with many of the recent ones.
We work in a profession where change is frequent and ongoing. Learning and study is required throughout the career. To view it as painful is, I believe, unhealthy. Sometimes it can be fairly challenging, however.
...and usually the older ATCO's are resistant to change (human nature).
It is human nature, but you seem to not know controllers that well. We (older controllers) have learned over quite a long time what constitutes change for changes sake, and change that is actually beneficial and required, seen the many blurring of lines between those, and sometimes become a little cynical of the reported reasons for said change. You might be surprised to find some of the older controllers are actually surprisingly adaptable.
My belief is we must look at these new systems and see what they can bring to the table and look at if the older way of doing things should be challenged, or even phased out...
By your emoticon choice, your mind is already made up, then.
I'll tell you something, I challenge the way I do things, and the tools I use to do them, old or new, every bleeding day. My livelihood depends on it. And maybe a bit more besides that.

I firmly believe writing on Estrips is worthless, mainly due to the limitations of the technology (HMI).
And you base that on.....?