PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - TV News Helicopter Crash in Brazil with Video
Old 13th Feb 2010, 21:48
SASless

Received 521 Likes on 217 Posts
My only experience with a tail rotor failure was as a passenger riding in the left front seat of a UH-1D Huey on a Battalion Admin flight to Saigon Hotel 3 helipad at Tan So Nhut AFB. I was merely hitching a ride for a short business trip to Saigon ( I am not at liberty to discuss what kind of business).

At the time I was a Chinook pilot assigned to the Battalion and had been qualified in the Huey during Flight School leading to my being dubbed an Army Helicopter Pilot.

We departed our base, bled just a bit of MR rpm but no problems, flew five miles to a second base.....picked up some fuel and a couple of SLF....and bled a bit of RPM on takeoff....still no problem. One might consider the earlier D Model Hueys were not known to be power houses with rotors...and as they aged and became assigned to duties such as the Battalion Log bird....they had some wear and tear on them. It was not unusual in operations to fly them down to just above LTE which was around 5800-6000 RPM N2. They had both a Low RPM warning light and a warning audio to warn the pilot. The light came on first....then at a lower RPM the Audio sounded.

We flew to Saigon....about twenty minutes away....and our stalwart pilot whose main duty was being the Battalion Mess Officer due to his piloting abilities falling a bit short of that required for use in operations....made his steep approach to a hover at the landing pad. Mind you the landing site was fairly confined on the surface but had no real obstacles demanding anything but a normal landing. Needless to say....operational pilots always landed to the ground when presented with a limited power landing to a nice flat concrete surface.

My Hero did not.