PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Loadcontrol Training Planetair
View Single Post
Old 9th Feb 2010, 19:15
CR2

Top Dog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In response to your PM/thread. I will repeat to you (and for the thread), I have NO pax experience at all. 747 freighters and thats it. The very idea of dealing with pax gives me more gray hair

First off David, have confidence in yourself. Not arrogance, confidence. Important difference. Don't be afraid to ask questions, ask them twice or three times until you understand (though that is not an excuse for not listening...)

You say you've been a Red Cap; I would say that is an excellent background. Knowing the practicalities, the "problems", perhaps certain tricks. Knowing your airplane is everything. I spent about 6 months loading and offloading 74Fs (with a qualified Loadmaster) before I did a loadcontrol course. I was told, don't worry about the loadsheet, learn the aircraft. Damned good advice. The loadsheet is a written expression of what you want to do Experience gained on the airplane will teach you what is "good" and what is "not so good".

Manual loadsheets... well, when I started, that was all we had. It is not something to "worry" about; the mathematics is a bit of + and a bit of - . If and when you get into the formulae behind the math (not really important for a beginner), just follow the formula. This is not a math class in school, use a calculator

Ask the "old farts" who are doing the job for advice, tricks, tips. If nothing else, they'll see that you are interested and will for sure be willing to help you. But listen to what they say. There is nothing worse than the new kid telling the old experienced guys what's what. Even if you're right (Been there, done that ) If you ask 3 experienced guys about a specific question, you'll probably get 3 different yet valid answers. You'll figure out what works for you and make your choices. That will become the experience you pass on to the next generation.