PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Qn: How do you do it - ie. manage the family?
Old 31st Jan 2010, 22:41
The Bunglerat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Selflessness. Charity. Compassion. Placing the other person's happiness above your own. I'm no expert on how to maintain a happy marriage, irrespective of career. However - and admittedly at the risk of generalising - I think a lot of relationships fail because of a lack of the attributes mentioned above, by one or both parties involved.

I'm extremely lucky that my wife has these attributes by the bucketload. As for me, I'm still working on it. I can say this much: I don't know if I would have had the patience to stick around for so many years and put up with so much crap if the tables were turned. Thankfully, I don't have to consider that scenario. Or maybe I can just attribute it to my mother-in-law of all people (who would have thought?!?) who gave my wife this sage piece of advice just before we got married: if you love your husband, don't make him spend his life working in a miserable job just for the sake of paying the bills, as he'll only end up resenting you for it.