PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Who has the highest training related debt?
Old 28th Nov 2009, 15:39
FlyingOfficerKite

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sky-diver

Thank you for your response to my comments.

Like you I have had an alternative career - six years professional training at university colleges, including many years of CPD training - all free and, until I commenced in practice on my own account, included professional membership fees, car, pension, healthcare and the like.

The first course I have had to pay for in over 30 years is a Masters degree, which I am now studying towards for both personal and professional reasons.

In contrast, like everyone else I know in commercial aviation, I have had to finance my own training from PPL to ATPL, but not type ratings. I would rather have had no job at all than pay for that. I don't mind being bonded and in fact have for the three commercial type ratings I have acquired.

The comparison is just so marked. Yes I appreciate that other professionals have expense with their training to a greater or lesser extent, but flying seems to be a profession/vocation without precendent with people committing themselves far more completely. The risks are greater from several points of view and the rewards uncertain, again from several perspectives.

I would not have missed flying my shiny jet, but I still find it difficult to reconcile this, somewhat selfish ambition, to the benefits achieved. My personal life has been a disaster due primarily to airline flying and as time goes by I wonder whether it really was all worth it in the end?