PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Evaluating stall characteristics - best procedure?
Old 17th Nov 2009, 20:54
3 Point

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well, this is an interesting debate!

I'm not a TP but I am and end user of aeroplanes; many different types of aeroplanes. It seems to me that we are having a heated agreement here!

I always thought that our TP colleagues have two very different jobs to perform; sometimes simultaneously, sometimes separately. Fist, how does this machine behave? Second question, is the behavior of this machine fit for its intended purpose?

I'm not, as I said a TP but, I am a fighter pilot, FI, airline captain (depending on the day of the week!) and so, while I have no relevant expertise to contribute to the first part of the TP's job I do believe that my experience is relevant to the second question; is the machine fit for purpose!

Surely, the testing of a new design is conducted from these two differing points of view? As a user I am not particularly interested in the bare bones analysis of a new machine (although I certainly acknowledge the importance of investigating and defining that). Rather, I am much more interested in learning if the new machine will do the job I want to use it for!

Pure flight testing and role related testing should go hand in hand!

With that in mind why would a QFI want to teach a "gentle and very easy flight test approach" to the stall if that is not how it might present itself in normal flight operations? We are not teaching pilots with just 12 hours in their logbooks to fly flight test profiles, we are teaching students to deal with situations they might encounter in normal flight operations!