PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - University Air Squadrons
View Single Post
Old 30th Oct 2009, 23:33
Anonystude

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As a recent product of both the 'old' (EFT at UAS) and 'new' (post-Marston report) UAS world, I'll chuck in my tuppence worth...

Yes, it's a shame they've cut the flying. However, the cut tends to be more in beancounter terms than actual student flying -- of the people left when I graduated, probably upwards of 25% (60%+ in the higher years) have the 'new' PFB (roughly half of the EFT syllabus). Many of those have completed the 'expansion packages' or whatever they're called that bring their experience up to that of a completed EFT student. The flying rate of individual students certainly didn't change that much; there were enough Medics/Engineers not flying to give the rest of us all the flying we could hack (or desire!).

Some who have entered flying training (both RAF and RN, and one AAC) in my cohort, or in the years following, have well over 100 hours of Tutor experience. Is it fair? Probably not. Do I think that's a problem? Not really. Most of the DE aircrew I've been working with have performed just as well as the ex-UAS grads.