PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - University Air Squadrons
View Single Post
Old 30th Oct 2009, 20:24
Wholigan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
However if I was a student in a UAS I'd be pretty disappointed if I never got to fly.

I only know about one UAS, never having been a UAS student myself. The guys and gals are first class people and most try their utmost to fit in and to achieve the best they can in their chosen way.

I am sure you are right those of you that say that UASs aren't what they used to be. But, even in my short time (9 years) in contact with this one, I have seen the goalposts moved quite drastically twice, and on both occasions for reasons that I can understand.

The first time was when it was decided that all EFT was to be conducted on UASs and that the old EFTs would close. I know the person who was ultimately responsible for the implementation of this decision, and I also know why he decided what he did. UASs were under dire and real threat from the purse-string holders axe, and the only way at the time to solve the problem was to be able to say "you can't cut UASs because they are an integral part of our flying training system and without them we would not be able to train our pilots". As they are still with us I can only assume that it worked! (It does make me wonder though whether the current system will now come under the same or worse threat in today's current climate of 'must make savings in defence'.)

The second time was when 'a study' recommended that the previous decision be reversed, but reversed without the funding being available to reinstate the old system as it was in its entirety. Therefore, some major policy changes had to be made to save money.