PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Nitrogen in Fuel Tanks
View Single Post
Old 21st Sep 2009, 17:44
violator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Come again? I am an engineer. I believe I made that clear.

I am also a pilot
You said:

I fly professionally and have spent many years as a professional "engineer" (mechanic)
So are you a mechanic, an "engineer" or an engineer? A mechanic is not an engineer.

Quote:
You're in no position to state what the case was or wasn't.

Nobody is
I think the NTSB are in a better position than any of us. But regardless of that, I'm glad you've accepted that you cannot rationally say that a missile hit TWA800.

Well yes, actually, there is...firstly a flight engineer who turns off the CWT pumps and sees a bright amber low pressure light telling him to do so, and secondly
A flight crew member acting correctly is maybe a 1e-6 pfh function, which is approx 1e-5 over a flight. A light bulb is about a 1e-5 pfh function. <1e-5 pfh doesn't support any case worse than a major safety case - dry-running of pumps in tanks is now a catastrophic safety case. This is the reason why older types have had automatic centre tank pump shut off retrofitted (737NG) and why centre tank minimum fuel procedures have been adopted.

secondly...while the FQIS was "implicated," this has occurred with little more than ancillary "evidence."
I'm glad you've accepted that FQIS was implicated. And as we've discussed on the 747-100 there is no intrinsic safety barrier preventing high energy from entering the tank through the FQIS harnessses.

Actually that's not true, particularly if there's an explosion and the tank is breached.
I didn't talk about a tank rupture, I talked about the explosion risk. A tank full of vapour and empty of fuel is a worse case than a tank not empty of fuel. More component failures may result an explosion, potential across more structure has the capability to arc.