PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Continental TurboProp crash inbound for Buffalo
Old 1st Aug 2009, 20:24
surplus1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply. To be honest, I hoped my question would generate something similar to what you wrote. Maybe I can learn something here.

It appears that the DFDR did not have the facility to record control column forces as opposed to positions (thats a relatively recent requirement for FDRs). So no-one is ever going to meet your apparent standards of proof that the control column was "pulled". Maybe it moved full aft of it's own accord? But the only logical conclusion is that the pilot flying the aircraft was moving the control column. Especially since it did the opposite of what the stick pusher would have had it do if there were no pilot intervention.

First - let me state clearly that I am not an expert on interpreting DFDR traces. Keep that in mind. Additionally, I am not rated in the Q-400; keep that in mind as well.

As you point out we are not recording 'forces' we are recording positions. However, I see readouts in lbs on the side of many relevant traces. Here is my thinking - please shoot it down where it goes wrong.

A) I am not interested in what happened after the stick pusher activated. I accept the premise that the PF may have been fighting the pusher but, from my perspective, the upset had already occurred at that point. By the time the pusher triggered, for all practical purposes this accident had already occurred. My interest is what happened before pusher activation. Whatever that was it is what, in my opinion, caused the upset and stall that activated the pusher.

Some things we believe that I do not dispute.

a) the REF SPEED switch (whatever its real name may be) was turned on. It reprograms the shaker and the pusher to activate at a higher airspeed.