PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Survey (or similar) jobs.
View Single Post
Old 26th Jul 2009, 08:23
JONESING

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi Dave,
I've been flying survey for about 3 1/2 years now. I'd say it's definitely not to everyone's taste, but I think it's the best thing that ever happened to me!

I've seen just about all of Aus, a couple of very unique foreign locales (with more in the pipe), laughed my @rse off, and met heaps of very nice people (and a few "characters") and done a fair bit of honest hard flying.

I have an odd preference for handling 70's era piston a/c and remote places, so i'm usually pretty happy to go to another point on the map, wherever it may be.

Maybe it'll help me not ramble if i put down some of the pros and cons in point form???!!!

Negatives first
* You will be in remote camps, communities and small towns 90% of the time. You've gotta be able to "amuse" yourself during the copious downtime.

*It's hard to do this job and maintain a relationship. 6-8 weeks away is standard......but you can never really know what's going to happen. That usually drives partners batty in short order.

* As mentioned above the flying is labour intensive! It is very tedious in the beginning. Extreme heat, turbulence, discomfort and boredom make the first few weeks hellish. It is only human to zone out and daydream......@ 100'!!! DANGER WILL ROBINSON!

*Your IFR skills will deteriorate over time. Basically all the work is VFR, and you have to stay motivated to keep your hard-won skill up to standard. There is scope to fly multi-crew turbines under IFR in my company, so it is worth doing if you stick around.

*Most of the survey companies are not run as flying set-ups. They don't think a/c and pilots / flying ops like a pure flying mob would. Be prepared for some breathtakingly stupid and or tight-arsed behavior on the part of management.

Positives