PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - European ATC experienced controller hiring...BS!
Old 17th Jun 2009, 14:01
tesox

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I want to respond to the confusion about my 'problem'. Here is a company that is looking for experienced controllers to quickly check out on live traffic. The idea is that they will fill gaps quickly while saving costs on training etc. I realize that a substantial amoun t of money will still be spent on moving expenses etc, but the balance sheet still shows a tremendous savings of money hiring an experienced controller over training an ab initio. This takes me to my first point which is that I personally did not expect to be paid more or receive more than any of the local controllers, I expected to atleast receive a salary which was comparable in scale to the one which I have attained in my home country. I have 10 years experience, radar terminal and enroute, I am experienced with some of the most advanced technology available to ATC in the world, certainly more advanced than what I saw over there! I would have been licenced in less than half the time of a local, and they were expecting me to start at the base salary level! That is not fair, I would have been giving up a lot for this move and there should at least be a compensation at the equivelent experience level of their local controllers.