PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Chinook - Still Hitting Back 3 (Merged)
View Single Post
Old 10th Jun 2009, 14:17
dalek

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There but for the Grace of God

I am a retired Navigator with just over ten thousand hours. I have a few hours in the RHS/ Rumbold seat of Chinooks and Pumas and a couple of hundred in other helicopters as a HELIFAC instructor, in Germany in the mid 80's.
I spent the second half of my career primarily on C130's but in my time at Farnborough and Boscombe, Mid 90's, notched up a few other types.
I have Been SFSO at Honington and Lynham and UFSO at Farnborough and Boscombe. A total of over seven years in FSO posts.
During that time I have processed a couple of hundred incident and two accident reports. I have trawled through several hundred more.
I have been fortunate enough never to have to deal with a fatal accident or process any report on an aircraft on which I have no experience.
I first read the Mull BOI report while at Farnborough. To understand the accident, I always try to to put myself in the place of the crew.

Here goes:

We have left Adergrove in a C130. We have descended to 250 ft and are approaching the Mull. I am standing in my normal position behind the Co-pilot.
The conditions are barely acceptable and deteriorating. Even if the Captain, is happy to press on, there will quickly be a comment from either me, the Co or the Flight Engineer. If the Captain persists, the comments will become protests, cullminating in the words "penetrate, penetrate, go".
At that point the Captain will apply power, regardless of his own opinion of the conditions, and start to climb. I will pass best heading and SALT. The Co will put out a radio call. The Eng will select (Engine and Airframe anti- icing ?). At SALT we would revise the plan. Problem solved.