PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Military Licencing vs Civilian Licencing
View Single Post
Old 15th May 2002, 06:25
Coffee thanks!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
20c worth

Having flown and instructed on both sides of the fence in aircraft of various sizes, and having been a military instrument rating examiner, I would suggest that the current rules are about right. (I would even dare to suggest that some more training on weight and balance would be a worthwhile addition to the ADF pilot's knowledge before you try and blast off in a light twin using your CPL for example). After upteen years and 6000 hours in the military I recently did my ATPL exams and was greatful to learn more again!

There are significant cultural differences between the operations, which as a military pilot I did not understand until I had attempted both systems. There is a massive difference between operating in a multi crew environment and single pilot IFR, and remember that the avionics and systems at your disposal in civil light aircraft are often, regrettably, of a lower standard of serviceablility and accuracy than what you are used to, and every aircraft you fly will have a different fit and different switches.