PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - BALPA Gen. Sec. Elections
View Single Post
Old 7th May 2002, 18:06
Notso Fantastic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This is the manifesto John has produced. I know he is away on a short trip and will be back in a couple of days to answer any questions:

I am a serving BA captain with 33 yrs in the airline & have been active within BALPA in various roles during the past seven years. I am currently in my third year as a member of the NEC, chairman of the BALPA Pensions Committee & also a member of the BALPA Finance Committee and BACC. I therefore feel well placed to comment on both the management & effectiveness of BALPA during the last five to ten years, ie the majority of the period of office of our incumbent General Secretary.

It is my NEC role, with the background knowledge of our internal workings, which has led me to stand for the post of General Secretary. WHY ?

Effectively to trigger an election so that we could all examine Chris Darke’s record & future plans for his next 5yr term. He has already served two 5yr terms, the last one uncontested. For us to just rubber stamp his next 5yrs of employment (pay, £ 85K) is not healthy in a democratic union like BALPA.

Some background.

The NEC were asked to nominate CD in closed session. He is an NEC member but chose not to be present at any stage. It was therefore completely impossible to question him on his record & future plans for this union.

Our Chairman’s opening words were along the lines “this will only take a few minutes gentlemen, I believe Chris has a good record etc,”
The hammer was about to descend when I supported by three other NEC members said, “hang on, this post is for 5yrs, he was rubber stamped last time, we need to discuss this in some depth”