PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Heli ditch North Sea G-REDL: NOT condolences
Old 14th Apr 2009, 07:50
DOUBLE BOGEY

Received 18 Likes on 4 Posts
Batboy

BATBOY, I am a North Sea pilot flying L2s at the moment.

The Incident as you have described, taken at face value, it is quite possibly the worst ever example of CREW/PAX liason I have ever heard.

I suspect that what happened to the helicopter after the "O" ring was changed was some kind of engine surge or "POP" stalling associated with disruption of the mass airflow through the engine which is unusual when the engine is under high load. (Normally happens when we lower the lever and the nose comes up slithgly as we start a descent).

The crew appear to have acted quite correctly in electing to return to the platform and have the incident investigated by the Engineer. If as you say a "PAN" call was made, then the crew would have felt at the time that more than "Pop" stalling was occurring as most Puma pilots are fully familiar with this problem.

What leaves me speechless is the apparent lack of explanation following the incident, and then the airtest, to try to convince you guys that all is safe and well. The crew of course being at that time in hands of the engineer who ordered the airtest.

As regards the wider points of your questions...when and how to do we assess the serviceability of the helicopter.

Well the short answer, is that as pilots, we are not authorised to declare a helicopter serviceable. We can only place the machine unserviceable.

If we were offshore the normal process, following a snag, is to contact our engineering departments and in the first instance, fully explain the nature of the problem. Engineering have a number of approved and acceptable protocols available to them based on the nature of the snag.

These may range from:

1. Flying back without PAX.

2. Remaining grounded until and engineer arrives to either further assess, or indeed fix the snag.